Swings & Roundabouts

Aliyah Ismail

Posted in child protection, Children, Looked after children, Young People by artexceiling on May 3, 2010

On the 18th October 1998 13-year-old Aliyah Ismail was pronounced dead after an overdose of methadone. She had been consistently failed by social services.
She was involved in child prostitution and had a chaotic life.
Aliyah had been moved 68 times during her short life – between her parents, social workers, foster carers and children’s homes. The police also picked her up on occasions.
Three weeks before her death took a long overdue decision to put her in secure accommodation to protect her, but they failed to fast track the process which would have meant her being detained. Unfortunately she had already absconded and ultimately this would lead to her death.
I’m’ just posting this because I thought of her today. She had a talent for languages and wanted to be a barrister when she grew up. She may have been living a nice life now, perhaps studying and reaching her potential if she had been properly protected.
I hope she is at peace.
The saddest thing is there will be more girls and boys like her falling through the net right now.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karen said, on June 16, 2010 at 23.02

    hi, I work with children in care, I love my job and feel privelidged to do so. These children are strong beyond beleif and I work everyday to help in any way I can Children are born innocent, I wish people could take time to consider this.

  2. Rob Harris said, on September 25, 2011 at 23.02

    GREAT POSTS ALL. THANKS FOR KEEPING THESE PEOPLE IN OUR MEMORIES

  3. beth said, on October 13, 2011 at 23.02

    Aliyah was andnis my sister, all I have left of her is googling her name. I’m glad people like you recognise the mistakes of social workers involving many other cases, but what I know is if theybhad done there job properly my sister would still be alive and I wouldn’t have to live my life withput her! Thank you from the bottom of mine and my familys heart for thinking of her 🙂 it makes every difference xxx


Leave a Reply

